Interested In Nikon D3300 As My First DSLR Camera

Eaglefan9727

Hi Fellow Forum Members,

My name is Randy and I am a new member to this forum as of yesterday. The reason why I am a new member is, Because I am looking to buy my first DSLR camera which would either be a Nikon 3300 or a Nikon 3200. I have been doing photography for a number of years and for the last 7 to 8 years of those years. I have been shooting with a Sony DSC-H20 point and shoot camera that is 10MP with a 10x zoom on the camera. However, I am ready to move up to a DSLR camera at this time, But I am looking for some info and advice from other DSLR photographers.

At this time, I have about $600 to spend and I am planning to get a bundle package when I buy my first DSLR camera. The two bundle packages that I am looking at are as follows:

1) Nikon 3200 24.2 MP CMOS sensor, AF-S DX 18-55 mm lens with a AF-S DX 55-200 mm lens.

Price of bundle $599.98 at Best Buy

2) Nikon 3300 24.2 MP CMOS sensor, AF-S DX 18-55 mm lens with a AF-S DX 55-200 mm lens

Price of bundle $599.99 at BJ's Wholesale Club

I am not that knowledgeable with DSLR camera, But I am guessing that the only difference between those two bundles are the cameras itself. If so, Can you tell me what the difference is between the two cameras?

The type of photography that I do are railroads, amusement parks, landscapes, nature, and animals. However About 90 percent of my photography is railroads. I don't consider myself to be a great photographer, But I am decent enough. In the past, I had one of my railroad photographs featured in a national trains magazine.

What am I looking for in my first DSLR camera? I am looking for a DSLR camera that I can shoot panoramic shots with. Also, I am looking for a camera or I should say a lens that will still give me that or close to a 10x zoom that I have on my current point and shoot camera.