Newbie here... who has just dropped her D3200 and cracked the casing *Cries*

MalGib

Hi Guys, I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction here...

I'm in need of help!!

My D3200 has had a bit of a fight with some tarmac and lost... Big time :eek:(

The body has an almost 3" crack in it, see below pic... it bounced across a car park and when I say bounced, I mean it reallllly bounced.

Amazingly it's still working and its working well with the 18-55mm lens on BUT when I use my 70-300mm lens, the weight of the lens is putting pressure on the crack and making it wider, the pics come out milky, so I'm guessing there's a whole load of light getting in there.

Any idea if I would be able to get a replacement case, or front half of a case or even if its repairable?

Any advice would be hugely appreciated :eek:) IMAG2590.jpg

weebee

Ouch! That sucks. These cameras are pretty complex and the labor to replace it is probably going to cost so near the cost of the camera that it probably won't be worth it. Check with Nikon. If the price is too much I bet you could run a bead of epoxy or super glue in the crack to repair it yourself. Then, just get one of those rubber camera skins to cover the repair.

easyCover EA-ECND3200B Silicon Case for Nikon D3200 Cameras, Black EA-ECND3200B

Last edited:

MalGib

Hi Guys,

Well, I'm new... not to the world, just to digital photography. Bought myself a D3200 last April, didn't have a clue how to use it, so I enrolled at college on a photography course and was hooked from day one... My 'Kon' as it's fondly called has been an amazing camera to get me from 'point and shoot' to something a bit more technical and I love it... but I have a massive problem!!

I'm in need of help!!

My 'Kon' has had a bit of a fight with some tarmac and lost... Big time :eek:(

The body has an almost 3" crack in it, see below pic... it bounced across a car park and when I say bounced, I mean it reallllly bounced.