Roller Derby Photography

rellison8

Hi,

I have recently joined a roller derby team as a skater/official/marketing/photographer guy. Roller derby has its challenges in terms of the speed, constant motion, low and changing color light conditions. I have had my D5100 for a year or so and taken a lot of pictures but I am far from an expert and these conditions are certainly presenting a challenge for good crisp photos.

So anyone with any advice or experience with this type photography I am very ingested in your help.

Thank you!

skene

one type catagory.... Fast Primes.... These will be needed for those exceptionally low light areas.
F2.8, F2, F1.8, F1.4, F1.2 the more light you are able to put onto the sensor.... the better.

rellison8

Thanks for all the info. Appreciate it. I will post some of the shots I took on Tuesday night later this evening and see what you think. I think a lot of them are good but sometimes the camera doesn't pick the one focus point I am looking for it to concentrate on and picks another point. I have not done any research on if that is something I can adjust but it could be part of my problem.

skater

Thanks for all the info. Appreciate it. I will post some of the shots I took on Tuesday night later this evening and see what you think. I think a lot of them are good but sometimes the camera doesn't pick the one focus point I am looking for it to concentrate on and picks another point. I have not done any research on if that is something I can adjust but it could be part of my problem.