View nx2..

robinchun

Excuse my ignorance,new to nx2 and (RAW), if I click on the RAW box at top left of screen it changes colour and and some coloured dots flash..what's happening and what does it do I can't seem to see any immediate difference

Robin

bluenoser

Banned
Hi there.

What I believe is going on - and I stand to be corrected - is that when you first view the images in View NX2, you are seeing the embedded jpeg file (and not the RAW file) as it makes it quicker for previewing images (same thing I believe that happens when reviewing the image in camera on the LCD screen). Clicking the RAW button, converts the preview image to the actual RAW file. I don't believe you'll see a huge difference unless you've applied a significantly differenct in camera picture control.

Bottom line for me: I almost never use that button as I haven't found any utility in doing so.

Again, I'm far from an expert in Nikon software so I don't mean to imply what I've said is gospel! :)

Doddery

The reason you have those flashing colours is that View is showing you lost highlights and shadows, that means there is no detail in those colours or a bad exposure.
To turn off that flashing go to Image and go down to highlights and then shadows and turn them off

bluenoser

Banned
The reason you have those flashing colours is that View is showing you lost highlights and shadows, that means there is no detail in those colours or a bad exposure.
To turn off that flashing go to Image and go down to highlights and then shadows and turn them off

Actually, no that is not the reason he has those *particular* flashing dots he refers to in his post- you get the dots he described when you click on the RAW button in View NX2 (a flashing bar of dots appears).