White Balance

tea2085

I,m in the process of educating myself as to what white balance is and how to adjust for it. I'm a beginning photographer but it seems to me that white balance could be adjusted better post picture i.e. editing. Am I correct with this assumption? Paul

J-see

I,m in the process of educating myself as to what white balance is and how to adjust for it. I'm a beginning photographer but it seems to me that white balance could be adjusted better post picture i.e. editing. Am I correct with this assumption? Paul

If you shoot RAW you can just as easily define WB in post. Yet, it's not always easy to get it right unless you have something (neutral) grey in your shot which you can use to set the correct WB. At least in LR. Else it requires some playing with the settings until it looks ok.

Last edited:

Horoscope Fish

Quickly defined, White Balance refers to the color of ambient light as measured in degrees Kelivin. For example, daylight is 5000-6500 degrees Kelvin while candle light is much "warmer" at around 1000 degrees Kelvin. Somehwat counter-intuitively, the lower the number in degrees Kelvin the warmer the perceived color (more red) while higher the number in degrees Kelvin the "cooler" the color (more blue).

Correcting White Balance is the process of making things look right in the final photo. When the color of the ambient light is not correct, you have what is called an undesirable "color cast".

Moab Man

To add to the difficulty, many computer monitors have a blue cast to them. When you start to edit you can be trying to edit out blue that is not actually in the photo causing a a redness that you don't see. A tool like Spyder 4 can really help to correct this. The higher cost is a color correct monitor for editing.

WayneF

The camera WB controls are pretty crude, so after we can see it is best, and which is the purpose of Raw files (to wait until you can see what it actually needs).