Clicking pictures on the D5300

dude1709

I recently purchased a D5300 and taken it for a motor race. However, I am unable to take multiple shots of fast moving objects. I tried moving the dial to sports mode, but no help. Being a newbie I avoided messing with any other settings. Is there anything that can be done to reduce the time between the click and release? Currently it takes close to 3-4 secs from the moment i hit the click button to the moment the object is captured. I am using a AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm VR lens. Let me know if there is more information i need to post.

thanks in advance!

mikew_RIP

Welcome to the forum,ime not familiar with your camera but does it have a continuous mode as well as single for taking pictures and have you set it.

nickt

I don't have the camera, but I will speak generally. Make sure you are in continuous high mode. You should be able to hold shutter down and rapid fire. Make sure you are not using flash. Don't use Auto mode, rather S, A, or P. Realize that if you did get some fast burst shots, things may then slow down as pics are written to card. Make sure there is enough light for normal shutter speeds. If there is a lot of action or low light, your camera may be struggling to focus. As a quick test, switch your LENS to manual focus and see if you can rapid fire, this will eliminate any focusing delay. If switching the lens to manual lets you rapid fire, tell us more about your focus settings and maybe we can suggest a better mode. Looking for settings like af-a, af-s, af-c, and point selection mode. Looks like these settings are talked about on pages 51-53 of the pdf manual. Check the manual to get familiar with terms and let us know how you are set.

Yormalda