Hi Nikonites

John W. Davies

Hi Forum.

New to Nikonites and new to the world of Nikon.

For the past 4 years i've been using a succession of bridge cameras, but on December the 25th I'm stepping
up in the world with a D5300 with the 35mm f1.8 prime and the 'kit' 18-55 VR II lens.

Got a bag full of various remote controls and other bits.

Having come from the 'superzoom' camera's I want to have something also in the bag
which could be a throw-on-and-leave lens.

End of Feb I'm tempted by the Sigma 18-250 lens.

I'm armed with my "D5300 for idiots" Guide book and come the 25th I'll be allowed to get started :D

Any tips for a complete newbie to both Nikon and the DSLR World?

Thanks and best regards,

JW

sonicbuffalo_RIP

Hi Forum.

For the past 4 years i've been using a succession of bridge cameras, but on December the 25th I'm stepping
up in the world with a D5300 with the 35mm f1.8 prime and the 'kit' 18-55 VR II lens.

Got a bag full of various remote controls and other bits.

Having come from the 'superzoom' camera's I want to have something also in the bag
which could be a throw-on-and-leave lens.

End of Feb I'm tempted by the Sigma 18-250 lens.

I'm armed with my "D5300 for idiots" Guide book and come the 25th I'll be allowed to get started :D

Thanks and best regards,

JW

Welcome....I'd consider the Nikon 18-140 mm lens. It's a great all around lens. Congrats on your camera. Just browse the forum, and you'll find that there's plenty to learn here....I've been here a while and I learn something new every day.

hrstrat57

Welcome.

Strong recco you match your 18-55 VR with the 55-200 VR esp if you plan on staying APS-C (DX) This will also keep your cost down while you experiment and decide if you need better gear.

The 5300 with the 2 kit lenses and the 35 f/1.8 will have few limitations.....as you progress you can flip the kit glass for FX upgrade with ease, likely even here on Nikonites marketplace.