Nikon D3200 or Nikon D3300 ?

DS1234

Hi. I've decided to buy my first DSLR camera, but I couldn't make a decision yet. After reading some reviews and deciding how much money I want to invest, I found out that I might have 2 options: Nikon D3200 kit 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF -S DX II + Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm zoom f/4-5.6G ED VR or Nikon D3300 with kit lens . I've been using a compact camera on manual mode so I thought that the guide mode would be useful. I'll use it mostly when I'll travel. What do you think would be better for me? Thank you.

jay_dean

I suppose it depends on what you want to shoot. I'm no expert on either camera, as i've not owned either. I doubt you'll gain any noticeable IQ from the 3300, although i believe the ISO is handled better. I'd look at the 3200 and add a better lens, maybe the 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G, which i have owned, and i can recommend.

J-see

I have the D3300 and it's a fine cam but I doubt it'll make a phenomenal difference in regards to quality. Without having shot a D3200 I'd say they're fairly identical.

What you have to take into account is if you plan on sticking with this set-up or plan to expand/upgrade. If the second is the case, the kit lenses matter less since that's always the first you upgrade.

If you want a cam+lens you're going to use for a long time, I'd pick the D3200 + both lenses. If you plan to upgrade lenses in the not too distant future, I'd pick the D3300.

aroy

I would pick D3300 with the new kit lense. The D3200 has similar sensor, but every thing else is on D3300's favour - ISO, burst speed, Video and of course size and weight. Jut get it with 18-55 kit lense and think about the second lense after a few months with the camera. Here in India the D3300 + 18-55-II + 8GB card + Bag costs about $470, where as the D3200 with same goodies is about $50 less. Hence not worth it.

Horoscope Fish

Depending on your budget: D7100, D5300, D3300. In that order.