Making Prints

Photo-n00b

Just out of curiosity, where do you guys usually make your prints? I'm a newly certified teacher in New York struggling to find a job; because of this, I'm working as a Photo Tech at a local pharmacy chain, which I have worked in for quite a few years now. I've made a few prints there during slow business hours and noticed that the quality is not as great as I would have expected! Any suggestions? Thanks!

Carolina Photo Guy

Prints 13X19 or smaller I print myself with an Epson Photo 1400 printer. Anything larger I have done at Costco.
Honestly, I am satisfied with the results and the prices are very reasonable. I picked up a 20X30 luster print last night for less than $10.00 including tax!

Hope this helps.

Pete

goz63

Cosco is good, Walmart does a decent job as does Sam's. For just a quick "I want to see it on paper" prints I use Walgreens. I don't use my printer as it costs so much in ink and paper. Cheaper for me to go to the store.

jengajoh

My photo instructor swears by Sam's club. I print my own ( 8 x 10 or smaller) on my HP photosmart printer. Ritz does a good job but they are ridiculously expensive. I hope to get a bigger format printer one day. (I hear good things about Canon and Epson) I should also renew my Costco membership... I do not recommend the 1 hour printing at Walmart.. at least the one by me did a horrible job. They cut them wrong and the colors were off...

JoeLewisPhotography

Im sorry but I could never present "walmart, costco, sams, or home printed" prints to a paying client. For personal use, sure, but never for professional use. So I guess it depends on who you are printing for. To use a high quality print lab does not cost that much more than the chain places, but you get what you pay for. Higher quality prints on higher quality paper. Not to mention little things like personal copyright info on the backs of the images.

Last edited by a moderator:

Curt