D5300 basic video interview setup

manlyman

Hi there,

I want to shoot a static video interview in an office space. In the end you just see my talent talking for a product endorsement.

I plan to purchase two D5300 using
1.) a 35mm 1.8 lens for the main view (upper body)
2.) a 50mm 1.8 lens for close up head shots
3.) standard 3-point LED lighting setup (plus maybe some ambient lights)

My aim is to fully seperate the subject from the background - so only the upper body is in focus and the background (bookshelf) should be completely blurred (bokeh).
I did 2 days of online research to come up with this cost efficient setup but I'm new to this, so if you can suggest improvements (within the same price range) I'd really appreciate your input :)

P.S.: Audio is handled via a lavalier mic attached to a portable Roland audio recorder (basically just a better Zoom recorder)

WayneF

Hi there,

I want to shoot a static video interview in an office space. In the end you just see my talent talking for a product endorsement.

I plan to purchase two D5300 using
1.) a 35mm 1.8 lens for the main view (upper body)
2.) a 50mm 1.8 lens for close up head shots
3.) standard 3-point LED lighting setup (plus maybe some ambient lights)

IMO (experience shooting portraits), 35mm is simply too short to plan upper body shots. The concern is that you will have stand too close to the subject to crop the view. One consideration is that better portrait perspective (about relative size of noses enlarged by too-close distances, etc) is best if you always stand back, say at least six feet. More if you can. Zoom in all you want, but stand back a little for perspective.

Plus, not only perspective, but 35mm f/1.8 depth of field is not all that shallow. The Depth of Field chart implies acceptably sharp limits, not nearly blurred out of focus.