a little help with autofocus and my d5100

hello everyone! newbie here..

so i have a d5100 and have had for a couple of years. I mainly use it for my youtube videos - but im having a general problem with my autofocus.

focusing is fine when its manual and i have full control, or its in my hand and i am using the autofocus feature because of course I can see what is in focus. however, on a tripod and attempting to focus is another matter. sometimes the autofocus is fine and i'll leave it on and it'll autofocus throughout the video but mainly focus on where I want it to go - okay, fine.
but a lot of the time when I am the subject of the video, it'll focus on the background, or something behind me, and i'll be ever so slightly out of focus which is really frustrating after a long take of a video!

I do have a (cheap) remote i picked up on ebay, but as far as I am aware, i can't focus for video with this as it just takes a photo.
any help or advice would really be appreciated, as its something ive been struggling with for a while.

(also, getting someone to stand in shot isnt always the best and/or most appropriate option. often i film my videos alone and need them done quickly and efficiently.)
thank you!

Are you stationary when you are doing these video? IF so pre-focus on the spot where you are and leave it on manual. Manuel is better since on the D5100 the auto-focus motor can be heard on the video.

Are you stationary when you are doing these video? IF so pre-focus on the spot where you are and leave it on manual. Manuel is better since on the D5100 the auto-focus motor can be heard on the video.

hey don
i am stationary, but i find that even when i focus on the area i'll be standing in, it wont 100% focus on the exact place i want sometimes, or i think ive focused it and it turns out its ever so slightly out, and when i go to record the viewfinder is too far away for me to notice.