which lenses to use with Nikon D3200

rahula

Hi all,

I am new to all this & to beging i have bought a Nikon D3200 HDSLR, which i have read has DX format sensor. i am thinking of buying a Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D Lens but as i read that it is FX format i thought i'd better ask on the forum before buying. are FX format lenses compatible with DX format Camera.

and one more thing what is a UV lens filter as i am getting an offer of a free UV lens buy paying little more money
any help would be appriciated

J-see

You can use most FX lenses on a DX but because of the smaller DX sensor, not as intended. In many cases it matters less and if you already plan upgrading to full in the future, it might be better to buy FX instead.

UV filters have little use on modern day cams but it's a cheap way to protect the lens. At least that's what I use some for. On the other hand, with the quality build of most lenses today, if something manages to smash your UV filter, I doubt the lens itself will be damage free.

lidistick

You will need the 50mm F1.8G. The D version doesn't autofocus with this body. FX lenses will work. Don't bother with the UV filter. Spend the money on other things. :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

J-see

You will need the 50mm F1.8G. The D version doesn't autofocus with this body. FX lenses will work. Don't bother with the UV filter. Spend the money on other things. :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That too, some won't auto focus. You better check that first. I have the 50mm/G myself since it's too cheap and too good to not have.

Deleted