ISO vs reach (or FX vs DX)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everybody.
So I've been using my D90 for nearly 5 years with few complaints. I have 4 Nikon lenses - 18-105 DX, 35 f/1.8 DX, 70-300mm VR, 105mm Micro.
This year I got a bird feeding station, but I'm finding that in order to keep a high shutter speed (say 1/1000) with the 70-300 at, say f/8, my ISO is creeping up to 1600 and things are getting noisy and I'm seriously considering moving to FX. My concern is that I lose reach.
So lets consider the following:
At 300mm, 1/1000s, f/8 and ISO 1600, I take a (properly exposed and focussed) photo of a bird that is, say 15 feet away using firstly a D7100, then a D750 (or a D610 assuming the sensor is the same as the D750).
The bird doesn't fill the frame in either case, so cropping in post is required (obviously I need to crop more with FX). I crop each image so that the bird fills the frame vertically.
Question is: will the D750 give me 'better IQ' (eg, detail, noise) than the D7100?

Oli

Last edited:

WayneF

Here is a test comparing the bodies. N750 is too new, so D610 is substituted (all these are 24 megapixels, and current models).
Nikon D750 versus Nikon D610 versus Nikon D7100 - Side by side camera comparison - DxOMark

You will need to use lenses 1.5x longer on FX, to see the same view DX shows. If using the SAME lens, FX will show the view half again wider (uncropped), which then when enlarged less to show larger frame as the same size as smaller DX frame, will show size of contained subject objects reduced proportionately. With same lens, cropping FX to 2/3 size will show the same view as DX. OR enlarging DX half again more to view as same FX size, will show the same subject sizes.
You will need to use lenses 1.5x longer on FX, to see the same view DX shows. The cost of the long FX lenses will be VERY noticeable. :)