Picture control

J-see

If it works identical as mine, it is only of use when shooting JPEG. In Raw it works identical but you can change it afterwards. I shoot RAW in neutral.

WayneF

JPG, yes. For Raw, it will depend on your Raw software. If Nikon Raw software, it can look at camera settings. If Adobe Raw software, it does not look at camera settings, with partial exception of White Balance.

Deleted

JPG, yes. For Raw, it will depend on your Raw software. If Nikon Raw software, it can look at camera settings. If Adobe Raw software, it does not look at camera settings, with partial exception of White Balance.

Thanks, I'm new to the idea of software. Did you mean which software I use in PP? As it's LR/PS, does that mean I use Adobe?

WayneF

Yes, I mean the Raw processing software. For Adobe products, yes, that is Lightroom, Photoshop, Elements. They all use the same Adobe Camera Raw module (ACR).
And they do not observe any of the camera settings - they have their own ways, like profiles for Picture Control. They can try to duplicate the one camera setting for White Balance (As Shot). But what Raw is, is Raw, no camera settings. The idea is we do it later, when we can see it, and results, and choices.

acrprofile.jpg

Whereas the Nikon Raw software (Nikon Capture xx) can apply the camera settings. Or you can choose for it to ignore them, and we do it ourself, later when we can see it.

Last edited:

WayneF

I'm not sure of your question, but to apply some settings to all future Raw image processing, then

On any image, choose whatever settings you want, and then do this.

acrsave.jpg

You can still change any setting when you see it wasn't right for the current image. For example, you could set Vivid for all, but you will tire of it very soon. :) With Raw though, you can see it before you choose to keep it.

I set a standard profile as previously shown, and I save Moderate Contrast in the Curve tool (maybe this contrast is removed for portraits).