Hello from Southern Ontario!

itschaddd

Hey everyone,

My name is Chad. I am from Southern Ontario. I am new to the whole photography world. I just picked up a Nikon D5300 with the lens kit (AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II) earlier today so I haven't been able to try it out yet. I'm going to be heading out to a local park tomorrow to take it for a test run. I am interested in landscapes (local along with plans to travel), wildlife, and macro as some point in the future.

I've always been interested in photography but my life in the past has been too busy to pick up a new hobby. My life has taken a complete 180 in the past year so I now have the funds and the time to really start this new hobby in full force.

To help kick start the learning process, I purchased the e-book version of Tony Northrup's DSLR Book: How to Create Stunning Digital Photography. I thought it was a good purchase for $10 to have a book to help with the learning process along with 9+ hours of video training integrated into the books content. I also plan to take a course at the end of the month, after I have some time learning on my own.

I have one question for you wise, veteran photographers:

So I already know that the lens I have will be fine for now but won't suffice for very long for my main focus, landscapes. I can tell that I will have an issue with landscapes that I'd need more zoom for. What all-around lens would you recommend for all different types of landscapes? And seeing as I'm still an amateur photographer, I am not looking for a very expensive lens so I'm looking for one with a good price to quality ratio.

My apologies for the wall of text.

Looking forward to learning and meeting members from this site!

Cheers,
Chad

RocketCowboy

Howdy Chad and welcome to Nikonites!