Just Bought Kit From Costco Now I think I'd like a Wide Angle Lense

TomAllyn

I'm totally new to using DSLR's. This Nikon is the first camera I've owned that is not just a simple point and shoot.

So I really don't want to spend a whole lot. I'm thinking I'd like to get a Sigma of some type. Suggestions and Advice would be greatly appreciated. If a wide angle wouldn't be the best choice.

My intended usage is to take nature and wildlife photos for my personal enjoyment and to share with family and friends.

480sparky

1. What lens(es) do you already have? It's kinda hard to suggest something without knowing what's already in your bag.

2. Wide-angles aren't really the best for wildlife.

3. "A whole lot" is a relative term. For some, $200 is 'a whole lot'. For others, $2,000 is pocket change.

TomAllyn

Currently I have a Nikon AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/45.6G IF-ED and AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II.

I'm hoping to not have to spend more much than $300, but if there is a compelling reason even though I'm a rank amateur I'll consider it.

Thank you so much for your reply.

singlerosa_RIP

If you're totally new, I suggest you learn to use what you have before you buy anything else. Spend the money on a class or two and a Dave Busch D3300 Guide or something similar. The more you know about your gear and how to use it, the more you'll know what additional equipment you need. Maybe you already know that trying to take a picture of a bear that's 200 yards away at dusk with your 55-200 is not cutting it. Unfortunately, you'll have to spend more than $300 to get a keeper in that situation. My other suggestion is buy the best glass you can afford and don't be afraid of refurbed and used.

480sparky

To get someone of quality that's wider than the 18-whatever kit lenses, your budget is woefully short. Double it and you might get something.