Replaced D3100 With D7100

lexman59

Hi all

I have just changed to a D7100 and having spent the last 6 days trying to find my way around it and understand the set up of it, i have been out this morning and taken some landscape shots and i am amazed at the image quality straight out of camera. I would say i'm a novice and struggle to understand all things technical with regards to digital photography. I have set it to shoot 14bit raw and lossless compressed, i'm allright with picture control and white balance etc but sometimes can't decide on focus modes and areas. I am an extremely happy chappy with my new toy and think its money well spent, will post some images later.

Chris :cool:

singlerosa_RIP

I use AF-C 9 point and spot or center-weighted metering. I also use back button focus (Custom Settings - Assign AE-L/AF-L button to AF-ON), which allows you to focus using the AE-L/AF-L button to the left of the rear command dial to lock focus and the shutter button to fire the shutter (only). Lots of articles out there on this and its advantages.

Good luck.

lexman59

Just tried the back button focus and worked fine but what advantage do you gain from it or is it just a matter of personal preference?

Stoshowicz

You can lock focus and take your finger off all buttons, then depress the shutter and take a picture. Here's one of the many articles on BBF (Canon related):

Back Button Focusing Made Simple by Lisa Tichane -Clickin Moms

The article by Lisa Tichane seemed to indicate that the main reason to be doing this backfocusing was that it maintained the focus mechanism during the interval between a half press of the shutter button and lifting the mirror,