First Time Jewelry Photography For Store

gohan2091

A local jewelry store has approached me asking if I would be interested in photographing 900+ items of jewelry. I have agreed to meet them next week but I have no experience with still photography (I shoot Weddings and portraits) I have a fair bit of equipment but willl tell you the equipment I think is relevant to this job:

- Nikon D7100
- Sigma 105mm macro lens
- 80cm Light tent (on it's way)
- 30cmx30cm black and white Acrylic boards (on their way)
- Two external flash units (SB700 and YN-568EX)
- Yongnuo YN-622N and YN-622N-TX wireless triggers
- Tripod
- Remote
- White and black foam core
- 5in1 reflector
- Light stands

Am I right in thinking I have all the gear required to do a half decent job? I understand having photography lamps such as these would be more convenient but would flash work well? The store wants a white background on all the images but I have concerns that silver on white would not look good. What would be the process of setting this up? What general settings should I use? I was thinking the following:

- Full manual mode, ISO100, F16
- Manually set white balance (place grey card in cube)
- Spot metering
- Flashes on manual power (one either side of the light cube)

Once I am happy with the lighting, is it the case of leaving the settings the same for each item? Or would photographing a gold ring for example require different settings to say a silver pendant? I'd appreciate any tips you can offer me.

Last edited:

Fred Kingston

do yourself a favor and ditch the light tent... get something like this...

NG STUDIO TABLE