Need Help Buying New Nikon Gear

joaco2208

Hi, I'm new to this forum, so I wanted to do some introduction of myself. I'm a hobbyist photographer who really likes to shoot. My favorite style is wildlife and nature photography, but I don't have like a general type of photography I do because I like all aspects of shooting what surrounds us.

I now have a quite old Canon Rebel Xsi, an excellent 70-200mm f/4L which I love, and some other lenses such as a 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM, a 28-90mm and the kit lens, the 18-55mm IS that came with my camera.

I want to buy a Nikon Camera, so I'm selling all my equipment. My Budget is Around 600 dollars or less for the camera and kit lens, and I want to buy a 70-200mm f/2.8, maybe Tamron's Non-VC version since it's affordable and extremely good, leaving auto focus aside.

My question is the following: Should I get a brand New D3200 with the 18-55 VR for around 500 bucks or should I buy a used Nikon D7000 on ebay with the 18-105 for around 600 dollars (with less than 10,000 shutter count). Which is a better camera? Is it worth buying a used D7000?

Does the D3200 work well with the Tamron 70-200mm 2.8 Macro?, I mean because it doesn't have a focusing motor inside the camera, something the D7000 has.

Is it a real advantage having the 39 pocus points the D7000 has over 11 in the d3200?

Should I get a 70-200mm f/2.8 from tamron or get the Sigma, or a Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8?

Can you please recommend a lens similar to the 18-105 with good image quality, sigma, tamron or any other brand.

Thank you very much! :)

hrstrat57

I think you will miss your great lenses too much. Why the switch?