Travel Tips

Artemis.ii

Hi,

I'm new to the world of DSLR and Nikon. So recently I got a D3100 and a couple of lenses. I now have the 18-55mm kit lens, 35mm lens and the 55-200mm zoom lens. I was hoping for some travel advice, basically I'm going to be travelling via backpacking around urban europe for a month and was wondering what lens/lenses I should bring?

Currently the lens I use most often is the 35mm prime since I find it the smallest and makes the camera more portable which I find are important considerations. Given that the photos I would be taking are mostly street, famous landmarks, art etc, anyone has any recommendations? While I like the 35mm the most I'm not sure if not taking the 18-55 instead will cause me to lose on photo opportunities. Also the 18-55 has VR which might help in low light I guess?

Also is a tripod/gorillapod absolutely essential? Thanks!

Curt

Well I am leaving for Sweden in a week; I am taking my D7000, 18-135mm & 50mm.
I have found these to work the best for me. 18mm for wide angle (landscapes,etc.), upward to 135mm (for close up). and my 50mm (for low light & general use).
Try and travel as light as you can otherwise you will curse it later…lol.
You can always use this & that, but in the long run it comes down to what you will really use Oh, I always take a back up camera (my Canon G10). It's pretty small, but a very good camera

Last edited by a moderator:

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
When I went to Mallorca last year, I only used a belt with a pouch that would hold the camera (D90) and 18-200. There are belts with bottle holders that are padded and they can hold a lens or two. I found this to be a lot more practical than a backpack that you have to remove and open to get to the camera. Sometimes, speed is of the essence while traveling.

Joseph Bautsch