Feeling like a fool/shutter slow and high D7000

Leslie

Hi, I am fairly new to using shutter speeds and usually just use the aperture setting. I am taking a 'boot camp' for 8 weeks and just can't figure out the the high and low shutter speed number. Any help is much appreciated. I feel way less confident now :(

Lawrence

What's there to figure out?
Just play around and see the different effects of the various speeds

High speed for action - when you want to freeze it: sports, birds, kids, pets etc
Low speed for long exposure such as in night shots or when you want create blur on action shots. Also used where subject is stationery such as buildings etc.
Enjoy the boot camp

cwgrizz

Challenge Team
Leslie, are you possibly talking about how the shutter speeds are displayed in the viewfinder? Or are you just confused on which setting to use for a particular picture type? Lawrence pretty much answered the second question. Ha!

Lawrence

Leslie, are you possibly talking about how the shutter speeds are displayed in the viewfinder? Or are you just confused on which setting to use for a particular picture type? Lawrence pretty much answered the second question. Ha!

Yeah I thought about my answer after I hit "post Quick Reply" and realise it may be wrong as I don't know the camera. Sorry if that is the case.

BackdoorArts

You want your shutter speed to be at least as fast as your focal length. In other words...

28mm - at least 1/28sec
50mm - at least 1/50sec
200mm - at least 1/200sec

When using Aperture mode the shutter speed is set to meter correctly for a given ISO. If you have a fixed ISO, say ISO 100, then the camera will likely set the speed slower than what you want unless you are in bright light, particularly if aperture is set for more depth of field. However, setting the ISO too high, while it will almost always get you a good shutter speed, will likely give you more noise in your photo than you want.