Inconsistent exposures

bluebird

Hey everyone! I'm fairly new to digital SLRs, and I've mostly been using mine for indoor portrait shoots of my daughter (now 16mos). I've been getting great results with my indoor shots, but when I took the camera on a family trip to Colonial Williamsburg, it seemed like my exposures were all over the place. I took several shots in a row of my mother with my daughter, and some of them came out great, while others were significantly over-exposed.

I have been using spot metering, since I often take pictures in the house and I was having trouble with my subjects being under-exposed when they were standing near a window. I haven't loaded these into lightroom yet, and I'm hoping that maybe some of them are salvageable, but for next time, what can I change to avoid this? Am I using the wrong settings? Framing my subjects poorly? Here are a few examples, un-cropped and un-edited.

Thanks!

Attachments

• DSC_1467.jpg
    DSC_1467.jpg
    113.3 KB · Views: 87
  • DSC_1471.jpg
    DSC_1471.jpg
    89.4 KB · Views: 77
  • DSC_1477.jpg
    DSC_1477.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 80
  • DSC_1536.jpg
    DSC_1536.jpg
    223.4 KB · Views: 87
  • DSC_1537.jpg
    DSC_1537.jpg
    162.4 KB · Views: 84
  • DSC_1540.jpg
    DSC_1540.jpg
    190.4 KB · Views: 85
  • DSC_1541.jpg
    DSC_1541.jpg
    226.9 KB · Views: 114
  • DSC_1544.jpg
    DSC_1544.jpg
    91.9 KB · Views: 99

bluebird

I'm sorry to be really dense here, but where would I find that information? I've been doing too much of the same thing lately and I'm forgetting where all of my settings are!

Eyelight

If not a bracketing setting, the post metering would have this effect. In every shot the center is good or not far off on exposure. Even the last shot, the jacket looks pretty good. Matrix metering would have set shorter exposures in the sunlit scenes and maybe a slightly longer exposure in #2.

Center-weighted might have been a good choice for the first two.