Diffraction ?

aroy

I have read a lot about diffraction at high F stops. So I tried a few close ups at high F stops, as I wanted maximum DOF. I cannot make out any any difference. If any one can, please tell what to look for.

These are 1:1 crops (as there is a current thread on 100% crop, I desist from calling the images so), some 4K pixels long, out of 6K in the frame.

DSC_7823.jpg
F22

DSC_7822.jpg
F16

DSC_7824.jpg
F8

Last edited:

aroy

The above were shot at the closest possible distance (at maximum magnification). The following are full frame, just cropped from left and right.

As I could get maximum DOF and found no degradation, these are shot at F22, and resized to 1000 pixel long.

DSC_7828.jpg

DSC_7829.jpg

BackdoorArts

I am by no means an expert on the specifics behind diffraction, so I will not wade into the waters with regard to the specifics regarding when you should or shouldn't experience it. Suffice it to say that there was heated discussion all over the internet after the D800 was announced, stating that with the pixel size and density of the sensor that users would begin to experience diffraction at f/8 or even larger apertures, and that tripods would be almost mandatory to prohibit movement. Funny how none of that is discussed much post-release.

This is a pretty good article on Diffraction and its effects on digital photography... Diffraction Limited Photography: Pixel Size, Aperture and Airy Disks

What I like most about it is the summary section "Notes on Real-World use in Photography", which essentially states that now you know what it is, here's why you probably don't need to worry about it too much.