1st time using LR

run4fun

Tokina 11-16 2.8 W/D7100....I shoot in jpeg and then did some tweaking in LR, should I be shooting in RAW then tweak in LR??

Truck (1 of 1).jpg

kluisi

Tokina 11-16 2.8 W/D7100....I shoot in jpeg and then did some tweaking in LR, should I be shooting in RAW then tweak in LR??

View attachment 98631

I would, but it's a preference. There's more work to do in Post if you shoot in RAW (only because the camera doesn't do it for you like it does when you shoot JPG), but you can do so much more than the camera can after the fact in Lightroom.

I do like your shot though. HDR? Is that what's going on in the sky, or did it actually look like that?

RocketCowboy

I'm seeing different gradients in the sky, but I'm thinking it's artifacts from editing a jpeg in LR and then saving again. It feels over-exposed, or HDR'ed like @kluisi mentioned, but I'm pretty novice here with LR too.

My preference has been to shoot RAW, but I'll also shoot RAW+JPG at times (currently how my camera is set) so that I can compare the two images and decide how much time I'm willing to put into post.

I dig the composition, and think if this had been shot in RAW you'd have the flexibility to clean up what I think I'm seeing in the sky...

STM

I too see a lot of banding in the sky. The image just seemed "overworked" to me but that may just be personal preference.

I shoot nearly 100% in RAW. CS5 has a great .NEF converter so there is really no reason not to. Of course the files are a lot bigger than a .jpg, but RAW gives you more flexibility in tweaking even before you do any tweaking within the actual program.

WayneF

Adobe does lossless editing in JPG too, which means,yes, you might as well be shooting Raw.