Nikon 14mm f/2.8 prime vs. others

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
Just wondering about any comparisons between a Nikon 14mm f/2.8 AF-D prime compared with Rokinon, Sigma, and Tamron prime counterparts. I've read reviews but am not seeing the Nikon coming out way ahead of the Sigma or Rokinon. I'm not interested in a zoom because of price. Between these 3-4 manufacturers, can you tell me any pros/cons? Thanks!

gqtuazon

Gear Head
I have no experience with these lenses but if it is just for occasional use, the cheaper lenses are worth considering.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
I have no experience with these lenses but if it is just for occasional use, the cheaper lenses are worth considering.

It's not so much the price as the Nikon is used--just wondering which might yield the sharpest photos. According to DXO Mark, the Rokinon is sharper than the Nikon; however, I hear people talk about some type of mustache blurring with the Rokinon (at least I think that's what they said). Obviously none are as sharp as the Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8. If anything, I prefer ultra wide photos over super telephoto photos so I want a lens that will be a keeper. :)

Rick M

Everything I've read says it's sharp, but the complex distortion can be a problem in architectural photography. After a lot of research, I did not buy any 14mm. The problem is there is not a near perfect one at any price. The very expensive Nikon only gets mediocre reviews. The rokinon would be my choice because it's issues are overcome by the price and the IQ is there. For the price of the Nikon, it should be stellar.

aroy

Actually the 14-24 is a much better lense at 14mm, and you can zoom it to 24. The only reason to get the 14mm is reduced weight 670g vs 1000g. Fitting a filter is a problem with both these lense as the front element curves out, hence normal screw on filters are out.