Best Zoom Lens for D7100

D7100

Hey guys.

Wondering if someone could help educate me on lenses for the D7100 ?

Now I am starting to establish my kit, what I am after is a really good zoom lens for both image quality and distance.

Being a newbie I am still learning the terminology and I am unsure as to the difference of some makes, Tamron, Nikkor, Sigma etc and as of yet, I do not know which is the best make to spend my money on.

I have also seen these teleconverters, am I right in thinking that goes on the D7100 body first then a lens goes on and it magnifies the distance of that lens ? If that is how it works, are there any negatives to this or is it a common thing that people do ?

I would like to be able to zoom in on some birds, just some wildlife photography really.

Budget is probably around £500, so I guess not that much, but if that won’t get me a teleconverter and a lens then I could always get the lens first and the teleconverter at a later stage.

Looking forward to some advice.

Many thanks :)

robbins.photo

Ok, well teleconverters will cut the amount of light coming in from the lens. For a 1.4 you'll lose 1 fstop, for a 2x you'll lose two full fstops. A 2x can be useful but only on a fast lens, something in say the F4 or F2.8 range.

You don't want to use them with slower glass like an f5.6 or you will most likely lose the ability to autofocus.

If you think 300mm would be enough the nikkor 70-300 mm afs g vr is an outstanding lens but I wouldn't recommend using a tc with it.

Sent from my LG-LG730 using Tapatalk

Horoscope Fish

Being a newbie I am still learning the terminology and I am unsure as to the difference of some makes, Tamron, Nikkor, Sigma etc and as of yet, I do not know which is the best make to spend my money on.