Newbie from Vermont agonizing over purchasing a D700 or a D3X

Vermontster

I joined to get information from real users of Nikon cameras and equipment. I am D90 user that is agonizing over purchasing a D700 or a D3X. I am far from a pro and would prefer to pay $2500 +/- than $5500+/-; however I would hate to short change my self if the D3X was "significantly" superior. Reading some of the opinions on this site seems to tell me the the D700 has as good of picture quality (with the right glass) as the D3X. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Chris

Curt

Both cameras are fantastic, but you have to remember if you already have a D90 and a fair amount of glass( DX formant).
It will become costly, as both the D700 & D3X are FX formant. Which means going out and buying new glass.

ohkphoto

Snow White
as both the D700 & D3X are FX formant. Which means going out and buying new glass.

And that is the biggest point to consider. Take an inventory or your lenses. You may want to consider investing in good glass first (if you haven't done so) and then upgrading the body.

You might also check and post on the camera specific threads. How much do you use the pop-up flash or off camera flash (using the pop-up flash in commander mode)? The D3 series does not have a pop-up flash whereas the D700 does. One of many points to consider.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
From what I've read, there is not that much IQ difference between the 2 models mentioned. There is higher ISO with the D3X, but to around 6400, they apparently produce beautiful digital files.
If you don't need the 10 fps, you might be better getting the D700 and a great lens rather than the D3x and cheaper glass.
I recently got the D700 and am very impressed with the results I'm getting.
Welcome to the forum and please let us know of your decision and share your pictures with us.

Marcel

Vermontster