Hi everyone!!

Ana

Hi everyone. Newbie here from Adelaide, Australia.
I don't own a Nikon yet, however am looking for one. Was wondering as I'm a newbie moving up from a compact camera if I should get the D3300.
I want to be able to shoot my dog running and playing and have the shots turn out nice and clear.
Would eventually like to try more action photography however am very confused as where to start. I was originally going to start with the D7100 however think that may be too much for me to learn straight away and wondered if the d3300 would be a better place to start with a suitable lens for this type of photography.

pedroj

Hi Ana and welcome...The D3300 would be good, Get yourself a nice 50mm AF-S G lens and you'll be able to capyure your dog running..

Daniel Aegerter

Hi and welcome.
I started out with the D3000 and upgraded to the D7100 some time later and find that to be a good thing.
If the D7100 is too much camera to start with really depends on your experience with DSLR's.

aroy

Welcome to the forum. D3300 with AF-S 50mm 1.8G or 35mm 1.8G DX is excellent combination for fast action. Do get the kit lense, it is simply fantastic in good light.

Pretzel

Welcome!

My thoughts on D3300 vs. D7100... if it's not budget holding you back, start with the D7100. There's really not that much more of a learning curve, but it has the features to satisfy deeper learning later. If it does boil down to budget, though, the D3300 is gonna give you some great shots too! I started out on the D3100 myself.

It's really not a difference between the cameras you mentioned that will make shooting actions shots of your pooch better or worse, but rather knowing what settings to use, and that's just gonna come with the commitment to learn.

Can't wait to see some pics when ya do pick one!

sonicbuffalo_RIP