Looking for Photography Tips for Family Graduation Photos

BJM

Hello,

I am rather new to the DSLR, and learning the basics of good combination of ISO, Aperture, and Shutter Speed. I just got a new camera (D5200) in time for a relatives graduation that will be in a stadium environment. Does anyone have any tips for shooting pictures at the ceremony? Things to keep in mind etc.. I do not have my tripod yet, so I won't be able to use it.

Also any tips for shooting pictures for the reception afterwords? I am basically at square 0. Should I bother taking pictures in RAW format, or just use JPG for now? I do own photoshop and lightroom, but mostly use photoshop in the past for other projects.

My lenses are 15-55 kit lens, and a 70-300 nikkor (old film kit model that does not autofocus with dslr). I also have a UV filter and a polarized filter.

aroy

First of all read the manual cover to cover. If you do not have one, download the PDF from Nikon site.
Do a similar exercise for View NX-2.

. Before the D-day, try out your camera in similar light. Start with aperture priority - ISO 100, and fastest aperture on your kit lense. Then cycle at different ISO - 200 to 6400.
. If the kit is 18-55, try a few shots at 18, 35 and 55mm, to get an idea of the field of view.
. If you find that the speed is too low and your images are blurred, then up the ISO gradually till there is no blur.
. The older 70-300 is pretty bad at 300, but workable between 70 and 200. Try to be within this range if you require the reach, else avoid it.
. Do your trial photography both with and without the inbuilt flash. To use flash in aperture priority mode, just pop it up manually - there is a button on the side which does it.
. Once you figure out what is the maximum ISO that gives you least acceptable noise, use it indoors if flash is not allowed, else better stick to ISO 100 with flash.