Compositional Methods

zutty

Here is my latest effort. I also wanted to ask:
I have been going out on shoots and am taking a really high amount of shots. I use bracketing in 2 or 3 shot bursts because I am still learning my exposure and compositional techniques and figured it couldn't hurt. But I am winding up taking 3-400 shots at a time. Is this not a good way to proceed?
Out of all those shots, I wind up with 5 or 6 decent ones that I like. Also what is the best format and size to post photos on the forum? I always shoot in RAW.
Thanks all, Oh..I promise to be more patient receiving criticism. I just get frustrated....grin.

Attachments

• 7100 Bug Light 24-70 #1 HD5a.jpg
    7100 Bug Light 24-70 #1 HD5a.jpg
    485.5 KB · Views: 180

Geoffc

Here is my latest effort. I also wanted to ask:
I have been going out on shoots and am taking a really high amount of shots. I use bracketing in 2 or 3 shot bursts because I am still learning my exposure and compositional techniques and figured it couldn't hurt. But I am winding up taking 3-400 shots at a time. Is this not a good way to proceed?
Out of all those shots, I wind up with 5 or 6 decent ones that I like. Also what is the best format and size to post photos on the forum? I always shoot in RAW.
Thanks all, Oh..I promise to be more patient receiving criticism. I just get frustrated....grin.

As I said in another post, slow down. Also the D800 has such a big dynamic range that I very rarely see the need to bracket. If you take an ok exposed shot you can adjust the shadows mid tones and highlights a huge amount in Lightroom or other editing software. Try it, you'll be amazed.

I tend to keep 5-10% of my shots! but never shoot 400 on a normal day.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Last edited:

zutty

Geoff,
I hear what you're saying. BTW...I also have a D7100 which is what I used in this photo, but I see how your advice pertains to that camera as well and I will refrain from bracketing for a while. Thanks so much!