Sports photography DX or FX

Welshy74

I am a newbie to the photography world and looks like im going down the road of sports photography. Question I have is that I currently have a D3200 and the longest lens I have seen is 300mm where as the FX I have seen go up to 800. I know they are massively different in price but would I need to go up to FX for the longer lenses as the sports I would be taking photos of would be rugby, football, cricket etc where distance would potentialy be an issue. Thanks for your help

Pretzel

1) You can use the Nikon FX lenses on your DX camera (D3200) as long as they're AF-S, otherwise you'll be manually focusing, which will be a challenge in sports photography. ;) The DX is a crop-sensor, so you'll be getting the effective field of view of a lens 1.5x as long, so it actually appears to be getting closer than it would on an FX body. Most of the AMAZING sports pics don't come from the "other" end of the field. You'll notice folks set up in the endzone, on the baseline, etc. and focus on the action coming toward them. If your team is going the other direction, you'll need to be on the other end. Period. Otherwise, your 800mm will be getting a nice zoom in on their backsides anyway... (FWIW, an FX lens will work on either a DX or FX body. A DX lens won't work on an FX body without some forced vignette around the edges. If you plan on EVER moving up to an FX body, buy FX glass to reduce the cost later.)