D3200 focus problem with zoom

dh photography

Hi all. New member here but a frequent reader.

I'm new to the d3200 platform, but have a little camera background. I'm pretty flustered at the moment with an issue I just cannot figure out.

All seemed well yesterday while shooting, but this morning is a different story. While using a 55-200 lens and zooming in on distant objects, the camera refuses to focus; either automatically or manually. I can extend the zoom all the way out and get items within 20ft from me to focus fast and fine, but anything farther away will not come into focus.

I have tried each if the differing focus point settings and nothing has helped. Also made sure that the lens was on auto. In manual focus, I can't even get it to focus clearly on distant items.

The camera is a week old and focused perfectly fine yesterday.

Please help. I'm sure it's probably me missing something here. I'm on vaca right now and it killing me not being able to take good pics.

Thanks!

Dave

Eyelight

The auto-focus and rangefinder that assists in manual focus can both be affected by the object(s) they try to focus on (Page 36 of the manual)

When you say it will not focus manually are you relying on the rangefinder (little green light) or just using the focusing screen (sharpness of the image in viewfinder)?

WayneF

Hi all. New member here but a frequent reader.

I'm new to the d3200 platform, but have a little camera background. I'm pretty flustered at the moment with an issue I just cannot figure out.

All seemed well yesterday while shooting, but this morning is a different story. While using a 55-200 lens and zooming in on distant objects, the camera refuses to focus; either automatically or manually. I can extend the zoom all the way out and get items within 20ft from me to focus fast and fine, but anything farther away will not come into focus.