Hello from Northumberland, UK!

Elliot87

Hi Nikonites!

I'm pretty much a complete newbie having just purchased my first DSLR, a D3200. I think I've just about got the very basics figured out, having lived with a keen photographer for 12months I managed to learn a little but there is so much I'm still clueless about, which is why I've joined this forum.

I'm mostly interested in wildlife photography, although I intend to have my camera with me as much as possible so I'll hopefully get some interesting shots of all sorts eventually.

I'm looking forward to meeting the regulars here and getting some lens advice. I'm not all that happy with the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED and standard 18-55mm lenses that I got with the camera. Neither have VR and I'm thinking this might be more important than I realised. Still I'm sure both lenses are more capable than I am right now and the tripod I've ordered should help.

Anyway, hi folks!

Elliot

Last edited:

SteveH

Welcome Elliot!
The 18-55mm is fine without VR, the 55-200 will just require a bit better technique than one with VR, but its certainly not unusable or even near that. Either way, you will soon get used to using them and start getting some great shots.

Elliot87

Thanks Steve!
Frustratingly I have slightly shaky hands (doctor says its nothing) but it is making photography a little more tricky. I'm wondering if a remote shutter release would be a good idea to go along with the tripod?

fotojack

There's a reason they're called kit lenses....they get you started taking pictures. :)

Smart move on getting a tripod. VR is not used on tripods anyway, so both your lenses will be just fine if used on a tripod. A remote shutter release wouldn't hurt if you have shaky hands. :) Another item to consider would be a monopod.

Which tripod did you order? They're not all built the same. The sturdier the better. Get the best one you can afford.

Last edited:

Englischdude

Hi Elliot,