New to Nikon

onebadstang08

Pardon my ignorance but i am new to Nikon. Decided to move up from the ole Kodak point and shoot.
How to i transfer the pics from the camera to the desk-top computer? It must be a different process than i use for
my Kodak.
I have a memory card in the camera but i am not sure the pics i am taking are being saved to the card or the internal memory of the camera.
Thanks in advance for any assistance you can give me.

:confused::confused::confused:

pedroj

Welcome to the forum..

I don't think there is internal memory..There isn't in mine....I usually use a card reader to transfer images from camera to PC...

FastGlass

No there is not an internal memory. Most computers have a slot to put the card you have in your camera into. The camera, if bought new most likely came with software. You can also use a cord from the camera to computer to transfer images. Or the best way is to use a card reader. Either way, as soon as you attempt to transfer images your computer should recognize what your wanting to do and guild you through it.

aroy

There are two methods of transferring images
. Using a USB cable from camera to the computer. This is supplied with the camera. In case it is missing, just buy a compatible cable. Normally most of the operating systems recognize the camera as an external device. If after connecting the cable it does not, then just load the View NX-2 software that comes with the camera. Once installed all the relevant drivers will be loaded and the camera recognized.
. Using a card reader. In case you have a card reader that accepts SD cards, just connect the card reader to the computer and insert the SD card. The reader will be shown as an external disk. Copy images as you would from a disk.

You can also use View NX-2 to transfer images. Connect the camera to the computer and start View NX-2. It should recognize the camera and then use the menu options to transfer the images.