1st time here .... a couple of quick questions!!

itsjustmeee

Hello all,

This is my 1st post here. I'm fairly new to this whole thing. Up to this point it's my mostly point and shoot cameras and my iPhone. I am the proud owner of a new D5300 and had a couple of questions. First, can anyone suggest a decent lens filter? I was looking at the Hoya, but is there a huge difference in their pro models compared to the cheaper ones? Are there any other brands I should be looking at? I'm mostly concerned about protecting my lens at this point but I would also like to get a polarizing filter as well so suggestions there would also be greatly appreciated. Secondly, if I were to get a 3rd party zoom lens (like the Tamron 18-270) what would be a good choice? Being fairly new at this, I would like to keep the cost down but I would also like a lens that has full functionality with my D5300 but not as costly as a Nikon.

Thanks in advance.

crycocyon

Hoya makes very good filters. A UV or 1A is fine. I use the Hoya HMC Super. The better filters will have multi-coating to reduce reflections/glare. Also, with a D5300's resolution, you would be compromising its image quality by going with such a long zoom Tamron. There are certainly affordable Nikon zooms including second hand. And why such a large zoom range? Why not a mid-to-standard and then a standard to long zoom? Such a long zoom range compromises image quality even further, so much so that you might as well have a 1st gen D200 instead of the latest D5300. A Nikon 18-105mm DX lens is going to be better quality than a Tamron zoom and here's an example of a used deal for $170:

Nikon NIKKOR AF-S 18-105 F/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX Lens (USED - GOOD) | Used Photo Equipment | Nikon at Unique Photo

You could then get an 18-55mm ED II for about $120. And that is one of Nikon's best zoom lenses (it has both an ED element and an aspherical element). Together they would be around 2/3 the cost of the Tamron 18-270 new.