Newbie Needs help/suggestions please

NightOwl73

Hi there, I was asked to take some photos of a local band while they play. My question is what are the settings I would use on my camera to get good photos of the musicians???? It will be a in a bar/club setting. I am using a Nikon D5000, have a 55-300 lens I just bought 2 days ago. I am new to photography, especially shooting bands, so please be exact as possible. Thanks for your time.

480sparky

The best answer is: Depends. There is no such thing as a 'band in a club' setting.

It depends on the light that's available. You can't just choose an aperture, shutter speed and ISO without knowing how much light there will be. Some venues can almost blind you, other are so dark you can barely see your way to the Pee Room.

singlerosa_RIP

For me, it's usually high ISO (no flash used) - 1600 on up, fast shutter speed - at least 1/100 and whatever aperture you get with the previous two settings (choosing aperture priority). Or, if you shoot manual with Auto ISO, set shutter priority to a respectable speed (>1/100) and pick your aperture, which will be f/5.6-f/8.

egosbar

a fast lens for starters , buy a 1.8 50mm or 1.8 35mm they can be bought for about 150-250 dollars , im not sure about the 5000 but i dont usually push my d7100 past 1600iso , you might get 800 ok results with software noise reduction

if you shoot wide open then make sure you are accurate with your focusing , best thing about digital is you can experiment and it costs nothing

Last edited:

singlerosa_RIP

I am very new to all of this. Could you please explain waht exactly "Noise" is in a photo???

It looks like grain. The higher you push the ISO, the more noise you introduce into the photo. As previously suggested, watch some youtube videos, including the exposure triangle.

Last edited:

egosbar

you really need too watch some basic photography tutorials on the link between aperture , shutterspeed and iso it will help you out