D3200 detail or sharpness issues!

Iron lung

I have been an amateur photographer for around 5 years now though there was a two year gap as family life got very busy for a while. At the time I was using a canon EOS 350D which was just 8mp but I got some truly stunning images with it (If I do say so myself) but it had seen better days so I got rid. Two years later I finally got the time to get back into photography again and with a little advice I settled on the D320. The 24mp was a big influence on me plus I prefer the menu layout and I find the interface to be more user friendly but here is the problem.
I find my images to be lacking detail and/or over all sharpness. I always use a good study tripod so shake is not the issue. At first I thought my polarizer might be interfering with the sensor so I tried a few shots without the filter but still the same problem, so then I reset the camera back to factory settings and still the same. Does anyone have any insight? Also any and all other advice and critique welcomed.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
With a 24mp sensor, you might be getting some diffraction. Since the exits are missing from your supplied pics, it's a little difficult to judge and diagnose. What was the aperture used for these shots? Are you using raw files? If yes, are you applying some sharpness in post processing? If shooting jpegs, have you increased your camera settings for sharpness? I found that I needed to bump the sharpness level to 7 on my cameras in the shooting menu.

Since these were long exposures, I suspect diffraction...

LensWork

Without exif data it is hard to provide an intelligent answer, however two possibilites that come to mind are:

1. The default sharpening level in all Nikon cameras is very low. Go into the shooting menu, picture control, and increase the default sharpening level.