Lens Barrel Button

sorabh

Hi Guys

I am new to photography and bought my first DSLR (3200 this weekend).

Was playing around with it all day saturday and asked my cousin to take a few pictures of me. Completely forgot to mention to him that you have to press the lens barrel button to rotate (zoom) the lens. - I.e he was zooming in and out without pressing the lens barrel button.

Would this have damaged my lens kit (18mm-55mm) - He would only have done it a few times.

thanks.

(sorry if this is a very stupid q!)

Horoscope Fish

Hi Guys

I am new to photography and bought my first DSLR (3200 this weekend).

Was playing around with it all day saturday and asked my cousin to take a few pictures of me. Completely forgot to mention to him that you have to press the lens barrel button to rotate (zoom) the lens. - I.e he was zooming in and out without pressing the lens barrel button.

Would this have damaged my lens kit (18mm-55mm) - He would only have done it a few times.

thanks.

(sorry if this is a very stupid q!)
I assume you have the new 18-55mm VRII version of this lens with the button that locks the lens in its retracted state? I wasn't under the impression you had to hold that button to zoom the lens but I could be mistaken, I've not used one personally. Does the manual indicate you need to keep the button depressed while zooming? I ask because that strikes me as a little odd. Not too mention cumbersome.

Offhand I'd say your lens is fine though I am curious about needing to press the button.

sorabh

OK ... now im even more confused !!!

There is a button on the lens itself which I press to rotate the lens. - Thats what a video guide on youtube said to do anyway :S

But dear Horoscope Fish - you could be right - as its just as easy to rotate the lens without depressing the button. yes I have the 18-55 VR 2 lens
thank you guys

Horoscope Fish

??? What button ???
The one between the "18mm" and "24mm" indicators...