Today I shot video at a wedding and man do I suck.

rocketman122

I did learn a few things but man I felt so incompetent. I felt that people noticed I was an amateur in videography but I think it was just in my mind. so shaky. composition was weird at times. I did try to switch my mind to watch my frame all the time but at times I was cutting heads. had a led (which helped with backlighting) on the D600 and an audio technical lavalier mic on a short boom connected from the bottom of the camera. not a pro setup but sound was great. luckily my experience from working in a lab and stills helped me a lot with regard to exposure.

my problem is shooting in different lighting situations. it was outdoors. left in shutter priority. iso was at 200 or so. and aperture kept going to f/16 or so. used a 35 f/2 lens. its kind of stupid that any exposure you make the jumps are so apparent. so you see the video jumping brighter or darker. its not a smooth transition. I just kept playing with the exposure compensation instead of the aperture. I have played with the video in the past, and changing exposure with the aperture and it also is very jumpy. meaning, you clearly see the stops. its not like when its in auto and does the smooth under or over of exposure. there has to be a better way. damn I need to get an lcd loupe pronto

it was a good experience. I admit im not strong on white balance. not that I dont want to learn it, but I hate dealing with it and trying to put it off as much as I can but it catches up to me and bites me at times. I bought an exposure disc similar to expo disco just to start gauging kelvin. im very good with judging exposure compensation in outdoors situations so kelvin should be something I will also be proficient in.

Blacktop

Sorry to hear about your failed attempt. Usually there is plenty of free liqueur at weddings, to calm the nerves and get the creative juices flowing.:D

rocketman122