Pictures Locked! Please help!

vbauerkemper

Hi, I am new to this camera and board. Just got the camera about a week ago. Ive been shooting in raw, and tried to upload photos from the SD card to my computer. I didn't realize that the little box marked "erase after importing" was checked and now the pictures on the SD card are gone. When I open the folder I uploaded the pictures to, all the pictures are there but I cannot access them. The little thumbnail shows a key and lockbox and when I click on it it says Nero encrypted file. These are some important pictures for my daughter's class...please help!

Horoscope Fish

Hi, I am new to this camera and board. Just got the camera about a week ago. Ive been shooting in raw, and tried to upload photos from the SD card to my computer. I didn't realize that the little box marked "erase after importing" was checked and now the pictures on the SD card are gone. When I open the folder I uploaded the pictures to, all the pictures are there but I cannot access them. The little thumbnail shows a key and lockbox and when I click on it it says Nero encrypted file. These are some important pictures for my daughter's class...please help!
I'm going to assume you're running Windows... If so, the simple solution would be to RIGHT-click on one of the photo files. From the menu, click on the "Open With" option. Click the little box at the bottom that says "Always use the selected program..." EVERY time you want to open this file type. Now choose an application other than Nero, like Windows Photo Viewer or whatever application you want to use.

EDIT: It just occurred to me you may need to install the Microsoft Camera Codec Pack. You may, or may not, need this to display your RAW images.

Open_with_disabled.jpg

LensWork