Legalities on photographing cars

photoGT

Hi all,

New to the forum and hoping some of you clever guys can educate me a bit. Im from Cape Town, South Africa and recently moved to Dubai. I am an avid motorsport photographer for the last couple of years. Since coming to Dubai I have started selling some of my work at a local arts and crafts market and have been asked some interesting questions by some of the public which I have personally never encountered before in SA.

The questions seem to be mainly around the copyright of selling images of motorsport cars with different sponsors names on, or even the actual drivers name on and also cars that have been at car club shows. Its been asked if I had permission to take photos of their vehicles.

Can I sell images like this to the public or do I have to get permission even though the drivers faces are not visible? Thanks in advance for any advice regarding this issue.

Attachments

• A (2).jpg
    A (2).jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 149

SteveH

I think this could be quite a complex subject, and taking local legal advice could be the way forward if you want to be 100% sure as the correct answer will be different in each country! The motor racing event will be on a track, which is privately owned, and often the land owner / event organiser will have a say in wether you can sell images you have taken on their land and at their event - Have you asked the event organiser if you can sell the images?

Last edited:

photoGT

Thanks for reply Steve,