The Top 11 Lies Photographers Tell

Pretzel

I can honestly say...

Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. and... Nope. Haven't told a one of those lies!

Well, ok, I used to "think" I'd take better pictures with a better camera, but now I mostly know better. ;) Just don't tell the wife, as I'm still trying to upgrade to the D7100!

Drewber

Well because I am just starting out in all of this, I do not feel a need to lie, I have to earn my keep like everyone else. This did make me laugh though because I have herd some of these already walking around the market here in Portland, Oregon.

DraganDL

Too general, too vague ("derived" from the generally applicable lies about just anything, in any human profession, any hobby, any kind of activity). Typical example of an unsuccessful attempt to be amusing, fun, clever... Let's analyse the "lie" that the author of this bad joke regards as being the "very special" one, because "photographers tell it themselves" - to think so or say that with the better camera one will take better photos is an ABSOLUTE truth. Not an ATOM of a lie can be found in such a statement/conviction. Let's suppose that you used to shoot with a decent point'n'shoot camera. Now, you've upgraded to full frame Nikon, Leica, Canon...Hasselblad...The same objects, people etc. that you shot before are going to look MUCH better once you re-shoot them, under the same light conditions. Colors would be more accurate, level of details higher, there would be less noise, textures and "lines" would be sharper, with less artifacts... The difference would be obvious, right away, at the very first glance, especially if printed at max quality or viewed in it's full size on a professional, high resolution monitor. Period.