HDR Photos: Axeman

AxeMan - Rick S.

DSC_8214_15_16_17_18_19_20_tonemapped photomatix.jpg

This is my first attempt at HDR. The shot was not set up HDR, just something I had from last year. I am working on another version of this shot without all the building in the background. I've done this already in CS5 HDR, but Photomatix does a much better job at HDR.

AxeMan - Rick S.

DSC_0106_7_8_tonemapped.jpg

It was suggested that it would be nice to bring out the color on the bricks on this shot. The only shame on this photo that it was shot on a cloudy day. Now that I can bracket here is the result.

jengajoh

The first one looks really cool with the light coming through the cloud. I like the color of the bricks on the second and the bright green building behind it. Very nice.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
What a difference Rick, I really like the tower in HDR, the other shot is just as great.
I think I will give photomatix a chance.
Marcel

Rick M

I really like the second shot, looks almost like a sketch. The tree limbs and vines kinda blend together and it looks as if the trees are envelopeing the structure. The image really draws you into studying it, very nice.

Joseph Bautsch

AxMan, your second shot is a great example of using HDR to create a very good piece of photographic art. The composition and pastel colors are outstanding. More people need to think of HDR as a creative tool and not just an end in itself.

fotojack

Great HDR shot, Rick. That's how I like to see HDR shots. Super well done! :) And including the 3 bracket shots........nice touch. :)

AxeMan - Rick S.

DSC_1758.jpg

Feeling good about this one but holding off for the weekly challenge. Got a couple of more ideas I want to try, still early to post.

(Work in progress not final)

Last edited:

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Hi Rick, I find the front of the train could get a little contrast boost. This can probably be done with your post production software.