Converting 35mm film with a DSLR...

dwhopson

Hi everyone,

(moderator - if in wrong place, please relocate!)

I'm new to the nikon DSLR system. One question I have - and I can't seem to find an answer via the search function - is regarding the use of nikon DSLRs for converting 35mm film to digital.

i know when I was using my pentax gear it wasn't much of an issue...just add/reconfigure a bellows unit and slide copier and off I went...I was using m42/screw mount equipment for this.

What techniques are people using with nikon DSLRs to achive similar results?

i know that attaching a screw mount (m42) lens won't allow for infinity focus via a m42 adaptor...but would that matter when connecting to a bellows unit where the lens is at the other end of the rail? Of course everything is manual (exposure/focus) with this setup...but this would allow me to continue to use my bellows unit and 35mm film transfer setup.

Thanks for any insight!

DraganDL

I don't see any problem here - a friend (and a colleague) of mine uses a "slide duplicator" which is a m42, attached to adapter m42/Nikon F bayonet. So, if you still own that duplicator, and want to use it with Nikon cameras, just find an adapter for m42 lenses (for Nikon to accept m42 lenses).

dwhopson

Great to hear. I didn't sell off any of my pentax film or legacy gear, so it will be nice to at least get some use from a few of these things.

Thanks!

kluisi

Hi everyone,

(moderator - if in wrong place, please relocate!)

I'm new to the nikon DSLR system. One question I have - and I can't seem to find an answer via the search function - is regarding the use of nikon DSLRs for converting 35mm film to digital.

i know when I was using my pentax gear it wasn't much of an issue...just add/reconfigure a bellows unit and slide copier and off I went...I was using m42/screw mount equipment for this.

What techniques are people using with nikon DSLRs to achive similar results?