Macro lens for D3100

fotojack

Anything from Tokina or Tamron in the 60mm to 105mm range will do nicely. I myself like the 85mm range, but that's a personal preference.

JoeLewisPhotography

when it comes to camera lenses, the words "good" and "cheap" do not belong in the same sentence. If you want inexpensive, with decent results, look into extension tubes to use with your current lens. I have seen people get pretty good results from $80 tubes....but if you want great results your going to have to drop atleast $500-ish. A good starting point is the Nikon 60mm.

heldervert

Thank you very much...actually I'm just a newbie in photography...my d3100 is just 2-weeks old and also I'm very new to photography...sir can you guide me or what advice can you give???

Last edited by a moderator:

PavementPilot

I would first try macro filters, they are cheap and you can see if you want to go further down this path. If so, then I would try extension tubes. If you like your results, then stay with the tubes. If not, and you really like macro, then take the step and get a true macro lens.

fotojack

Thank you very much...actually I'm just a newbie in photography...my d3100 is just 2-weeks old and also I'm very new to photography...sir can you guide me or what advice can you give???

Good advice from Pavement and JoeLewis. Just remember.....with Nikon, macro and micro are the same thing. :)

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
I've been pretty happy with my Sigma 105 macro. I don't remember how much it was, but it's sharp and does what it has to do. If I would have to buy another one, I'd take a 60mm though. The 105 doesn't give me much depth of field in the very close range.

PavementPilot

Just a note on extension tubes; make sure you get the AF-S tubes, so that the camera knows and works with the lens attached. There are other extension tubes out there that do not have the contacts built in.

heldervert