Suggestions for a family portrait

Revet

I am new to portrait photography. I currently have a D3100, a 60 mm Macro lens, a 18-270 mm zoom lens, an SB-700 Speedlight (with sync cord), an an umbrella (white, with removable back for shoot through).

I have been practicing all of the standard shots (Rembrant, loop, Split, butterfuly, etc) so I have various lightening techniques and camera/flash settings down pretty good for one person (not sure how well these apply to group shots)
I want to do a family portrait (4 people and 2 dogs). My problem is, I would love to shoot all sorts of shots with different lighting, etc but I don't think my family or dogs has the patience. So I want to try to get the best set-up I can without a lot of practice shots. What I am really looking for is some lighting suggestions. I have the one speedlight and umbrella and can also use the on-camera flash for fill if needed (in SU-4 mode).

I am not looking to renting or buying any new equipment at this time. I just want to attempt a nice shot with the equipment I have.

spyderdos

I would suggest to shoot outdoors.... You really wont be using the umbrella or you can use the flash to fill in the shadows on the face....and your dogs would enjoy it for sure :)

Dave_W

The Dude
Some of my best family shots come from getting the family together at the park or a beach and let them play. You'll end up with far more natural and better looking portraits than if you were to pose them all. Not to mention the quality of their smiles. Smiles that happen naturally look very different from the ones you'll get when you pose people.

kluisi

Some of my best family shots come from getting the family together at the park or a beach and let them play. You'll end up with far more natural and better looking portraits than if you were to pose them all. Not to mention the quality of their smiles. Smiles that happen naturally look very different from the ones you'll get when you pose people.