HDR Beginner in need of advise

Nikonite1222

Hi Everybody-

I'm new to the whole HDR thing and I am very interested in it though. I shoot with a Nikon D200 and I know how to use the bracketing mode very well. What I am in need of help with is the production in the pc. If anybody out there could suggest what kind of software I need and how to use it i would be very grateful !!!

Currently, I am using Photoshop CS and Lightroom 3.3. not that those would help.

Thanks for taking the time to help me out. And please feel free to ask if I need to provide any other information that would be of assistance.

Sincerely- Doug

ohkphoto

Snow White
Hi, Doug!

I'm a great fan of HDR and you'll be hooked as soon as you try it. If you have CS5, you can use their HDR Pro program. Taking the shots is kind of trial and error. Take at least 3 auto-bracketed shots . . . you want to be in either aperature priority or manual. Once you get your shots downloaded into lightroom (be sure you use a tripod when shooting), select the shots you want to merge. You should have at least 1 that is very underexposed, and 1 that is very overexposed. Go to the photo menu in on top in lightroom, and select "edit in", scroll down to "merge to HDR Pro in Photoshop". This will take a little bit of time. Once PS does its thing, a new screen will open with hdr controls, and that's when the fun begins! Just play with the sliders until you get the effect you want.

Hopefully this will give you a start. Most of this is really trial and error and personal taste. Let us know if you need more help. Post some of your efforts and we can help you more.

Good luck.

Best Regards

naja

You could also download the trial version of Photomatrix. It is an excellent product that I use for HDR work.

Enjoy the new experience

Ruidoso Bill