NIkon 1 V1 Slow Motion Help

GolferDiba

HI there Guys

Just wondering if there is someone who could maybe give me some tips for using my V1.

So I am a professional golfer and have been guided into buying myself a V1 as im told that it has the highest fps on the market or at least sufficient for what im trying to achieve.

Im trying to get my golf swing in the 1200 fps mode but im running into 2 problems.

1. the only way i can fit my golf swing in is with someone videoing me from a good few meters back and holding the camera sideways.
2. when I import the video into ViewNX2 i cannot rotate the video and second the image seems to be distorted.

the problem with normal cameras is that it because im swinging the club around the 120mph range, they dont tend to pick up all frames and i cannot seethe exact angles of the club which are important to me.

help will be greatly appreciated.

PapaST

First thing I would do is check out YouTube. I found a couple of golf swing videos with the V1 (or J3) at 400fps. You can probably gather some tips there as to how they accomplished their videos. I think some of the limitations you'll run into are the higher frame rates take lower res images so the golf club could get washed out. I'd try 400fps like this video to see if that helps the resolution.

James Quinlivan Golf Swing DTL at 400FPS - YouTube

Also, the 1200fps might be limited to 10 seconds or so. You might see if you can get a remote and tripod. I'd play around with different lenses to see if you can get the camera closer to you.

GolferDiba

well i got it with the 10 - 30 lens and the 30 -110. you think the 30-110 will be better?

the link you provided also seems a bit distorted to me? but it does look marginally better than my video

maybe i should look into getting the adapter to use my fathers nikon lenses. He has a D7000

PapaST