Optimum Settiings For Hockey Photography

2MuchTurbo

So I'm planning to take my D7100 & 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 out for a test-run this weekend at a buddy's hockey game.

Now let me remind readers that I am still VERY VERY new to the photography game, and am still learning.

I'd like to know the optimal settings to set my camera to, for the best/clearest shots...here is the scenario

- Indoor, well-lit arena
- shots to be taken from the stands, approximately 10-12 feet above and probably 50 feet back from the ice, so that my shots clear over the glass borders

My understanding...PLEASE CORRECT IF WRONG
- camera in manual mode
- Auto Focus Single (AFS), single focus point, auto AFS
- I think i would need high shutter speed and low ISO (please provide suggested values)

I don't have an external flash...only the built in...don't know if I'll need it, considering I've played at the arena before, I know it's pretty well lit, but then again, behind a camera everything changes.

PLEASE DO PROVIDE CONSTRUCTIVE TIPS...Want to really learn and make the best of the opportunity to shoot!

Thanks!

FastGlass

I probably wouldn't shoot in manual mode. Depending on what you're focus point is pointing at you're constantly going to be rolling the sub/command dials to get correct exposure. I would shoot using aperture priority and set a limit on the lowest shutter speed allowed. Also, you would be surprised on how well lit a place isn't. Hard to give you specifics on settings because they will change depending on what you're aiming at. I would set for a low as possible ISO and still try and get at least a 200th out of the camera. As far as focus mode. Set it for continuous mode because you're going to be constantly moving you're lense around following the players. Flash isn't going to help you out because you're going to be to far away for it to make a difference. Good luck.

aced19

First off there are no optimal settings to set a camera to when shooting sports.