DSLR Newbie with a D5200 looking for setup help

harve22

Hey everyone, absolute newbie here. Just purchased the wife a D5200 (our first DSLR) and am looking for some crawl/walk/run basic setup help to prepare us for a night shoot in the Anza-Borrego Desert on New Years (friend of ours showed her some pics he took and she got the bug to do her own). We're planning on taking our Jeeps out into the desert for a couple of nights and she is wanting to take a few hundred pictures while out there. What I'm looking for is the basic recommendations for settings that we can play with over the next couple of weeks, take some pics around the house (understand the light won't be optimal..but) post them up here for you guys to critique and tweak what we should do as we get close to heading out. I’ve tried doing the Google search for answers thing but it leaves me with more questions that I started with. We got the standard Nikon 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G & a Nikon 55-300mm 1:4.5-5.6GED lenses, a tripod, and remote when we bought the camera. Appreciate any help you can give. Thanks much, Tony.

harve22

What are you wanting to shoot? Milky Way, fireworks, unicorns?
Milky Way is the goal for this trip, we'll go unicorn hunting at another time. Saw some of your Milky Way shots, those were amazing and would be the goal.

Will be in Moab in April for the Easter Jeep Safari.

Last edited:

Moab Man

Milky Way is the goal for this trip, we'll go unicorn hunting at another time. Saw some of your Milky Way shots, those were amazing and would be the goal.

Will be in Moab in April for the Easter Jeep Safari.

I too plan to be in Moab, again, as usual LOL.

Need to head to bed. Tomorrow I post up a bunch of information for you.

MPSanSouci

Welcome to the forum and enjoy your new toy!!!